

MINUTES: SAAHE FREE STATE REGIONAL AGM

16 March 2016 16:00 JAMES MOROKA BUILDING FACULTY OF HEALTH SCIENCES

1. WORD OF WELCOME

Prof Friedrich – Nel welcomed all present at the AGM and extended a special word of welcome to new colleagues that attended the meeting. New staff members from both CUT and UFS were welcomed to SAAHE and invited to future SAAHE events.

2. APOLOGIES

Drs S Swart and Riana Nel.

3. SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

3.1 WEBSITE-minutes of the previous AGM and the annual report from the Chair have been posted on the SAAHE website. Please note the new logo that now appears on the website.

4. MINUTES OF THE MEETING HELD AGM 2015

Adopted by Mr A Hugo and seconded by Dr L van der Merwe.

5. REPORT OF THE CHAIR

The report is present on the SAAHE website; the chair encouraged all the colleagues to read the report. The chairperson reminded members

of SAAHE to please register as members on the SAAHE website. This is to ensure that you receive communication regarding to SAAHE matters. The chairperson thanked the management committee for all the hard work and congratulated the team for the remarkable academic activities which were hosted during their term of office. A special thank you to Dr S Swart and Prof G van Zyl for their contributions and wished them well with their future endeavours.

6. FINANCIAL REPORT

Prof G van Zyl presented the financial report on the spread sheet and highlighted the following:

- An interest of R2 500 was earned from UFS.
- UFS and CUT paid their R5 000 membership fees.
- Expenses for Prof Landman's visit were reflected.
- There is a profit of R3 000 earned since 2015.
- The meeting was made aware that the region will need R70 000 to plan the SAAHE conference when it comes to our region; this is why we need to keep the books healthy.

The report was accepted by Mr A Hugo and Dr C Weyers.

7. NEW MATTERS

Ottawa proposal- Prof G van Zyl indicated that SAAHE has been requested to host the next Ottawa conference in 2018 but SAAHE has opted to bid for 2020 rather. He encouraged the SAAHE members to start preparing their research projects for 2020 conference which South Africa will bid for.

AIMEE conference- the new MC committee was tasked to see the possibilities of video streaming the conference in August 2016.

SAAHE awards- criteria for the distinguished educator award have been revised and will be circulated. Please nominate fellow educators for the

award. For the researcher award the nominees will have to submit their latest research.

8. ELECTION OF MANAGEMENT

There were no additional nominees; the new MC was elected in the following portfolios: Chairperson: Mr A Hugo Vice Chair: Dr L van der Merwe Academic: Dr Mathys Labuschagne Secretary: Dr D Mtyongwe Treasurer: Prof H Friedrich-Nel Administration: Me G Niemand Marketing: Dr J du Plessis IT: Mr R van Wyk

Prof G van Zyl will remain as an ad hoc MC member.

9. GENERAL

10. CLOSURE Meeting closed at 16h40